Home Page

Religious Education

Brickhouse is non-denominational. The syllabus for Religious Education will reflect the fact that the traditions in Great Britain are, in the main Christian, whilst taking account of the teaching and practices of the other principal religions represented in the country. School Assemblies have a religious and moral element. Children whose parents exercise their right to withdraw them from religious worship and Religious Education lessons will have alternative arrangements made for them.


All classes from Year 1 to Year 6 receive one hour of religious education a week with it's nature and form being dictated by the Sandwell SACRE Agreed Syllabus for religious education 2018-23. The delivery of the subject as an essential part of our curriculum aims to enable young people to develop their own ideas and ways of living, to learn to be reasonable about belief and religions and to be respectful to those who see the world differently. In the EYFS, Religious Education is covered through the Understanding the World Area of Learning.

Throughout Foundation Stage, Key Stage One and Key Stage Two pupils will learn about and develop their understanding of religions such as Christianity, Sikhism, Islam, Hinduism and Judaism. Also children will learn about non-religious beliefs, such as Humanism. This learning centres around three core elements:

1. Making sense of beliefs
2. Making connections

3. Understanding the impact


In EYFS (Nursery and Reception) 

Children begin to learn all about the religions found amongst children in the class. RE is taught through the 'Understanding the World' area of learning in the EYFS curriculum. They will be mostly learning about Christianity.


In Key Stage One (Years One and Two) 
Children begin to learn all about Christianity, Sikhism and Islam.
In Year 1 pupils learn about what Christians believe God is like and stories of the Sikh gurus. 
In Year 2 pupils learn about the good news Christians believe Jesus brings and stories of the prophet Muhammed.
In Key Stage Two (Year Three, Four, Five and Six)
Children learn more about Christianity, Sikhism and Islam and they begin to learn about Hinduism and Judaism.
In Year 3 pupils learn about the Christian creation story and about the Humanist way of life.
In Year 4 pupils explore the Christian concept of the Trinity and what it is like to be Jewish..
In Year 5 pupils discuss Hindu, Jewish and Islamic prayer and how Christians live following the example of Jesus.
In Year 6 pupils explore what Christians believe Jesus did to save them and the impact of belief on people's lives.